The inaugural season of Bengal Pro T20 League is ongoing, with eight franchise-based teams locking horns for the bragging rights. Murshidabad Kings, co-owned by Jalan Builders and Pritam Electricals, and representing the Murshidabad and Nadia districts of West Bengal, started their campaign on a winning note.

Strikers’ marquee player Akash Deep making an appeal during his team’s match against Murshidabad Kings on June 13. Photo courtesy: Collected

In their first fixture of the tournament, the Kings won its battle against Servotech Siliguri Strikers. Winning the toss and battling first, the Strikers could manage 113 runs before being bundled out in the 20th over.

In its reply, the Kings reached the target in 17.5 overs, while losing just the three wickets.

Kings’ skipper Sudip Kumar Gharami, who had expressed his confidence about his team during an exclusive interview with Connected to India recently, was adjudged the player of the match for his unbeaten innings of 48 runs in 34 deliveries. Gharami, 25, struck four fours and two sixes while steering his team to a win.

Though Strikers’ marquee player Akash Deep struck thrice, it wasn’t enough for his team to stop the Kings from picking up crucial points.

This was Strikers’ second match. They won the inaugural match against Manoj Tiwary-led Harbour Diamonds on June 11.

Next, the Siliguri team will face Shrachi Rarh Tigers on July 15. On the same day, the Kings will square off against the Diamonds.