Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) MLA Mohan Charan Majhi has been chosen as the new chief minister of Odisha. Majhi was also elected as the leader of the BJP Legislative Party in Odisha. Kanak Vardhan Singh Deo and Pravati Parida were selected as deputy chief ministers of the state.

The announcement was made by Defence Minister Rajnath Singh on Tuesday in Bhubaneswar, Odisha’s capital city. Apart from Rajnath Singh, Union Minister Bhupender Yadav also attended the meeting as central observers.

The decision came a week after the BJP stormed to power in the state on its own for the first time by winning 78 out of 147 seats. Its state legislature unit held a meeting Tuesday to elect Mohan Charan Majhi, a tribal leader, who would be sworn in as the chief minister on Wednesday.

In the Odisha Assembly elections 2024, Mohan Charan Majhi secured 47.05 per cent votes winning the Keonjhar Assembly constituency, defeating Minu Majhi of Biju Janata Dal (BJD).

Minu Majhi received 40.84 per cent of the votes in the Keonjhar Assembly

constituency. Mohan Charan Majhi received 87,815 votes, compared to Minu Majhi’s 76,238 votes.


KV Singh Seo, who was named deputy chief minister, defeated Saroj Kumar Meher of the BJD by 1,357 votes in Patnagarh, while Pravati Parida, the other deputy CM, beat BJD leader Dilip Kumar Nayak by 4,588 votes in Nimapara.

In the Odisha Assembly Elections, the BJP trounced Naveen Patnaik’s Biju Janata Dal by winning 78 out of 147 seats.

BJP invites Naveen Patnaik for swearing-in ceremony

The BJP, all set to form its maiden government in Odisha, on Tuesday invited BJD president and outgoing chief minister Naveen Patnaik for the swearing-in ceremony scheduled on June 12.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, top BJP leaders and the party chief ministers will attend the swearing-in event of the party’s first CM and his ministers in the state. The event will be held at the Janta Maidan in Bhubaneswar on Wednesday.

However, the first invitation card for the ceremony was given to Lord Jagannath in Puri, and some newly elected MLAs delivered it at the 12th-century shrine.

A five-member delegation, led by BJP Odisha unit president Manmohan Samal, went to Naveen Niwas, the residence of Patnaik, and formally invited him to attend the swearing-in ceremony to be held at 5 pm.

Senior leaders such as Suresh Pujari, Basanta Panda, Samir Mohanty and Nityananda Gond accompanied Samal.

“Naveen Babu has accepted the invitation and assured us that he would attend the ceremony,” Samal told the media.

3.6 Crore Indians visited in a single day choosing us as India’s undisputed platform for General Election Results. Explore the latest updates here!

Catch all the Politics News and Updates on Live Mint.
Download The Mint News App to get Daily Market Updates & Live Business News.


Published: 11 Jun 2024, 06:00 PM IST

Disclaimer: This report is auto-generated from other news portal services. Realtimeindia holds no responsibility for its content.