The BJP has appointed several top politicians — including Union Ministers and Chief Ministers — as  election in-charges for Maharashtra, Haryana, Jharkhand, and Jammu and Kashmir. The announcement came mere weeks after Lok Sabha elections saw the saffron party return to power with a muted majority. 

The Maharashtra and Haryana polls are likely to be held around October — the first real test for the NDA and INDIA since the Lok Sabha polls. It is pertinent to note here that the Opposition group made significant inroads in both states during the recently concluded general elections. The BJP bagged just five Haryana seats (it had won all ten in 2019) while the Congress got another five. Meanwhile in Maharashtra, the ruling Mahayuti alliance (including the BJP, Shiv Sena and NCP) could manage only 17 out of 48 seats. 

ALSO READ: Why Maharashtra, Haryana assembly polls matter for BJP, Congress? Explained in 5 points

Jammu and Kashmir recorded its highest voter turnout in several decades during the recent Lok Sabha elections — with both the Opposition and the NDA linking it to the abrogation of Article 370. The northern union territory has remained without an elected government since 2018.

ALSO READ: Kashmir News: J-K assembly polls soon after Lok Sabha Election 2024? Here’s what CEC said after record Baramulla turnout

Who are the in-charges?

Maharashtra — Union Minister Bhupendra Yadav was appointed as state election incharge with Union Minister Ashwini Vaishnav as state election co-incharge.

Haryana — Union Minister Dharmendra Pradhan was appointed as state election in-charge and former Chief Minister and MP Biplab Kumar Deb was appointed as election co-incharge.

Jharkhand — Union Minister and former Madhya Pradesh CM Shivraj Singh Chauhan will be the State election incharge while Assam Chief Minister Dr Himanta Biswa Sarma has been appointed as State election co-incharge.

Jammu and Kashmir — Union Minister G Kishan Reddy has been appointed as state election incharge.

ALSO READ: Will Uddhav Thackeray take back ’rebels’ who joined Eknath Shinde camp? Sena (UBT) chief says…

(With inputs from agencies)

3.6 Crore Indians visited in a single day choosing us as India’s undisputed platform for General Election Results. Explore the latest updates here!

Catch all the Politics News and Updates on Live Mint.
Download The Mint News App to get Daily Market Updates & Live Business News.


Published: 17 Jun 2024, 04:33 PM IST

Disclaimer: This report is auto-generated from other news portal services. Realtimeindia holds no responsibility for its content.