Image Source : INDIA TV Andhra Pradesh Key Candidates in Lok Sabha Elections 2024

As Andhra Pradesh went through Lok Sabha and State Assembly elections on May 13, key candidates from major parties have emerged. Notable contenders include YSRCP president YS Jagan from Pulivendula, TDP supremo N Chandrababu Naidu contesting from Kuppam, and actor-turned-politician Pawan Kalyan representing Pithapuram. AP Congress president YS Sharmila, sister of YS Jagan, is vying for the Kadapa seat, while BJP state chief Purandeswari is in the fray from Rajamahendravaram. The political arena is set for a showdown between the ruling YSR Congress Party (YSRCP) and a formidable coalition comprising the Telugu Desam Party (TDP), Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), and Jana Sena Party (JSP), led by veteran politician N. Chandrababu Naidu.

Changing political landscape

Once a bastion of Congress, Andhra Pradesh witnessed a significant shift in political dynamics, with regional parties gaining prominence. In the 2019 elections, YSRCP dominated, winning 22 out of 25 Lok Sabha seats, reshaping the state’s political landscape.

Coalition Dynamics

The current elections is witnessing a fierce battle between two coalitions – the BJP-TDP-JSP alliance and the Congress-led INDIA bloc. With strategic seat distributions, alliances are gearing up for a tightly contested electoral race.

Key players and caste dynamics

The political landscape in Andhra Pradesh is intricately woven with caste dynamics. Jagan Mohan Reddy’s YSRCP, leveraging welfare schemes and inclusivity efforts, aims to consolidate support from backward castes and minorities. Meanwhile, Pawan Kalyan’s entry into electoral politics and Congress’ revival attempts under Y.S. Sharmila add layers to the electoral landscape.

High stakes

With stakes high for all parties, Andhra Pradesh emerges as a battleground that could redefine the region’s political future. As social engineering and caste calculations come into play, the nation watches closely as the state prepares for a crucial electoral test.

Previous election results

In the 2019 elections, YSRCP emerged victorious, securing 151 Assembly seats, while TDP won 23 seats and Janasena claimed one. In the Lok Sabha polls, YSRCP triumphed in 22 seats, with TDP securing victory in three constituencies.

Also read | Kerala Key Candidates in Lok Sabha Elections 2024: Check complete list, profile of key contestants

Disclaimer: This report is auto-generated from other news portal services. Realtimeindia holds no responsibility for its content.