Inzamam ul Haq accused India of ball-tampering

Pakistan cricketer Inzamam-ul-Haq under whose leadership the country played for several years. Photo Courtesy: Wikimedia Commons

Former Pakistan captain and 1992 World Cup hero Inzamam-ul-Haq has triggered a controversy by accusing India of ball-tampering.

He claimed something was done with the ball when India faced Australia in the Super 8 match of the ongoing T20 World Cup.

India will play England in a semi-final clash when the former Pakistani champion cricketer is making the claims.

Inzamam said pacer Arshdeep Singh was able to utilise ‘reverse swing’ due to ball tampering.

“You must understand that Arshdeep Singh managed to do the reverse swing in the 15th over. Is it not too early for a new ball?” the former cricketer was quoted as saying during a news channel discussion.

He said the umpires should keep their eyes open.

He made the remark while participating in a cricket special event of Pakistan’s 24 News channel.

Pakistan exited from the group stage match of the T20 World Cup.

India defeated Pakistan in their group-stage clash in New York.

Pakistan suffered a shock defeat at the hands of co-hosts USA.