Narendra Modi took oath as Prime Minister for the third time on Sunday with several new Cabinet members. The BJP-led NDA has been compelled to rely on its allies as the grouping returned to power with a reduced majority this week. The Lok Sabha election results appear to have influenced Modi 3.0 with many alliance leaders taking oath at the Rashtrapati Bhavan. Key BJP leaders including party chief JP Nadda and multi-term Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan were also inducted as Union Ministers for the first time. 

Prominent leaders Smriti Irani and Rajeev Chandrasekhar were dropped from the Cabinet after losing the recent Lok Sabha elections. Lawmakers such as Parshottam Rupala whose remarks on the Rajput community had triggered a massive row during the polls also failed to find a place in the new government.

The Council of Ministers in Modi 3.0 has 12 members from the Upper House of Parliament, while 58 are newly-elected MPs from the Lok Sabha. Meanwhile two newly appointed ministers of state – Ravneet Singh Bittu and George Kurian – are not members of either Lok Sabha or Rajya Sabha. They will now be required to become a member of Parliament within six months of their oath-taking.

Here is a list of new faces:

  • BJP chief JP Nadda 
  • Former CM Shivraj Singh Chouhan
  • Former Haryana CM Manohar Lal Khattar
  • Hindustani Awam Morcha (Secular) founder Jitan Ram Manjhi 
  • Odisha MP Jual Oram
  • BJP leader CR Patil
  • Nimuben Bambhania
  • JD(S) leader HD Kumaraswamy
  • BJP leader V Somanna
  • Shiv Sena leader Pratap Rao Jadhav 
  • BJP leader Raksha Khadse 
  • Lok Janshakti Party-Ram Vilas chief Chirag Paswan
  • BJP MP Savitri Thakur
  • RLD leader Jayant Choudhary 
  • BJP leader Jitin Prasada
  • BJP leader Kamlesh Paswan
  • JD(U) leader Ram Nath Thakur
  • JD(U) leader Lalan Singh
  • Vikassheel Insaan Party leader Raj Bhushan Choudhary
  • BJP leader Satish Dubey 
  • BJP leader Bhagirath Chaudhary
  • BJP leader Suresh Gopi 
  • BJP leader Annapurna Devi
  • BJP leader Bandi Sanjay

(With inputs from agencies)

3.6 Crore Indians visited in a single day choosing us as India’s undisputed platform for General Election Results. Explore the latest updates here!

Catch all the Politics News and Updates on Live Mint.
Download The Mint News App to get Daily Market Updates & Live Business News.


Published: 09 Jun 2024, 07:37 PM IST

Disclaimer: This report is auto-generated from other news portal services. Realtimeindia holds no responsibility for its content.