The Ministry of Education on Saturday announced the formation of a high-level committee to enhance transparency and fairness in the National Testing Agency’s (NTA) examination processes. The seven-member panel will be chaired by former Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) chief Dr K Radhakrishnan, the ministry said in an official statement today. This decision follows the recent cancellation of the UGC-NET exam due to a question paper leak on the darknet. Allegations of irregularities in the NEET-UG exam have also prompted scrutiny of NTA’s procedures.

The committee’s mandate includes recommending reforms to the examination process, improving data security protocols, and enhancing NTA’s structure and functioning. The panel is expected to submit its report within two months, the ministry said.   

Objectives Of The High-Level Committee

A primary objective of the committee is to reform the examination process by analysing it comprehensively. The goal is also to suggest measures to improve the system’s efficiency and prevent breaches, to secure a “zero-error” process. 

Additionally, the committee will review and strengthen the Standard Operating Procedures (SOPs) and protocols of the NTA. Recommendations will focus on enhancing these procedures and ensuring compliance through robust monitoring mechanisms. 

Strengthening data security protocols is another key focus. The committee will evaluate the NTA’s existing data security measures, particularly those related to paper-setting and other examination processes, and suggest improvements to make the system more secure. 

The 7-Member High-Level Committee 

Dr Radhakrishnan, former Chairman of ISRO and current Chairman of the Board of Governors at IIT Kanpur will lead the committee. Other members include Dr Randeep Guleria, former Director of AIIMS Delhi; Prof B.J. Rao, Vice-Chancellor of Central University of Hyderabad; Prof Ramamurthy K, Professor Emeritus at the Department of Civil Engineering, IIT Madras; Pankaj Bansal, Co-founder of PeopleStrong and Board Member of Karmayogi Bharat; Prof Aditya Mittal, Dean of Student Affairs at IIT Delhi; and Govind Jaiswal, Joint Secretary at the Ministry of Education, who will serve as the Member Secretary. 

ALSO READ | High-Level Committee To Be Formed, No One Will Be Spared: Education Minister On NEET Controversy

Education Loan Information:
Calculate Education Loan EMI