NEW DELHI: The Idukki Lok Sabha constituency went to polls on April 26 during the second phase of the Lok Sabha elections 2024, along with other constituencies in Kerala. The polling percentage 66.55 was amongst the highest in the country. Encompassing parts of the Idukki and Ernakulam districts, this parliamentary seat epitomises Kerala’s rich socio-political and cultural diversity.

Idukki Lok Sabha Election Results 2024
Candidate Name Party Name Votes Vote %
Joice George CPM NA NA
Dean Kuriakose INC NA NA
Russel Joy BSP NA NA

Last updated till June 4 5 a.m.
Campaigning in the constituency has largely focused on wildlife attacks, which have resulted in five fatalities in the three months before polling. Other prominent issues include title deeds and construction restrictions in specific zones. Since its establishment in 1977, Idukki has seen power shifts between the UDF and the LDF. The NDA aims to bolster its voter support this time.
In the 2019 parliamentary elections, the UDF candidate Dean Kuriakose triumphed, securing 4,98,493 votes (54.21%), while LDF’s Joice George garnered 3,27,440 votes (35.61%), with a total voter turnout of 76.3%.

Lok Sabha Elections

Assembly Elections

In 2014, the LDF candidate Joice George emerged victorious, serving as the MP. He was supported by the CPM. The second position was held by Congress’ Dean Kuriakose. Idukki continues to be a crucial player in Kerala’s electoral scene.
Key candidates in the 2024 elections include incumbent Dean Kuriakose from Congress and Adv. Joice George from CPM. Both parties maintain a robust presence in the state, setting the stage for a significant electoral battle in this constituency.
Historically, Idukki has been a battleground for the Congress led United Democratic Front (UDF) and the Left Democratic Front (LDF). Both alliances have tasted victory in this constituency, with prominent leaders like Francis George and P.T. Thomas leaving their imprint on its political landscape.
Demographically, the constituency mirrors Kerala’s multifaceted social fabric, comprising Hindu, Christian, and Muslim communities. Christians make up 41.8% of the population, Hindus at 48.3% and Muslims at 9.7%. Additionally, the constituency features a significant Scheduled Caste and Scheduled Tribe presence, with 11.5% and 4% representation respectively. Total Voters of Idukki parliament seat as on 2019 Parliament Election – 1200832 .
The state comprises the following assembly constituencies: Devikulam, Udumbanchola, Thodupuzha, Idukki, Peerumade and Kattappana. With a commendable literacy rate of 84.3%, Idukki underscores its emphasis on education and intellectual growth.