In a post on X, PM wrote, “Today is the final phase of the 2024 Lok Sabha elections. As 57 seats across 8 states and UTs go to the polls, calling upon the voters to turnout in large numbers and vote. I hope young and women voters exercise their franchise in record numbers. Together, let’s make our democracy more vibrant and participative.”

Also Read: Lok Sabha Election Phase 7 Voting Live Updates: Polling begins in 57 seats; PM Modi, Kangana Ranaut in fray

The final phase of voting started on Saturday, covering 57 parliamentary constituencies across seven states and the Union Territory of Chandigarh. This phase signifies the culmination of the world’s largest polling event, which began on the 19th of the previous month and has traversed through six phases, encompassing 486 Lok Sabha seats.

As per the Election Commission of India (ECI), an estimated 10.06 crore electors, comprising around 5.24 crore males, 4.82 crore females, and 3574 third-gender electors, are anticipated to participate in this phase by exercising their right to vote.

In the final phase of polling, a total of 904 candidates are contesting. Notable candidates include Prime Minister Narendra Modi, along with BJP leaders Ravi Shankar Prasad and Nishikant Dubey, Congress leaders Manish Tewari and Charanjit Singh Channi, as well as Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) leader Harsimrat Kaur Badal and Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) leader Misa Bharti.

Also Read: Lok Sabha Elections 2024 exit polls results today. When and where to watch? Details here

Additionally, six assembly seats in Himachal Pradesh will undergo by-polls on June 1, which will impact the Congress government in the state as all six seats were previously held by Congress, and the MLAs from these seats cross-voted in the Rajya Sabha polls.

The seven states and the Union Territory of Chandigarh where polling is scheduled include Bihar, Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, Odisha, Punjab, Uttar Pradesh, and West Bengal. Meanwhile, polling for the remaining 42 Assembly Constituencies of the Odisha State Legislative Assembly will also occur.

The ECI said that polling for 28 states/UTs and 486 parliamentary constituencies has been conducted smoothly and peacefully. Vote counting will take place on June 4.

Earlier phases of the Lok Sabha elections were held on April 19, April 26, May 7, May 13, May 20, and May 25. Additionally, assembly polls have been conducted in Andhra Pradesh, Sikkim, and Arunachal Pradesh. Odisha has witnessed simultaneous polls with the Lok Sabha and the assembly in the last four phases.

(With inputs from ANI)


You are on Mint! India’s #1 news destination (Source: Press Gazette). To learn more about our business coverage and market insights Click Here!

Catch all the Politics News and Updates on Live Mint.
Download The Mint News App to get Daily Market Updates & Live Business News.


Published: 01 Jun 2024, 07:15 AM IST

Source link