Narendra Modi will today take oath as the Prime Minister of India at a mega event in the national capital. After having run two successive governments with massive mandates, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) stalwart will become the head of a coalition government. A host of foreign dignitaries, including several heads of neighbouring countries, will attend Modi’s swearing-in ceremony.

Narendra Modi shows a letter by President Droupadi Murmu (not pictured) inviting him to form the country’s new government.(AFP file photo)

The Bharatiya Janata Party emerged as the single-largest party after the Lok Sabha elections. However, the party’s tally of 240 seats was 32 short of a simple majority in the Lok Sabha, the lower house of the parliament. Narendra Modi’s third government will rely on the support of his National Democratic Alliance partners N Chandrababu Naidu and Nitish Kumar, whose parties won a total of 28 Lok Sabha seats.

3.6 Crore Indians visited in a single day choosing us as India’s undisputed platform for General Election Results. Explore the latest updates here!

Narendra Modi, along with his council of ministers, is expected to take oath of office at the Rashtrapati Bhavan at 7.15 pm.

Disclaimer: This report is auto-generated from other news portal services. Realtimeindia holds no responsibility for its content.