PM Narendra Modi assumes offices and signs first bill related to welfare of Indian farmers

Indian PM Narendra Modi on his first day at work after being sworn in. Photo courtesy: PIB India

Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Monday (June 10, 2024) assumed office for the third straight term when he signed his first file which was related to the welfare of farmers.

“After being sworn in as Prime Minister for the 3rd time, PM Narendra Modi signs his first file authorising release of 17th instalment of PM Kisan Nidhi,” read a statement issued by the Indian government.

The file is expected to benefit 9.3 crore (93,000,000) farmers and distribute around INR 20,000 crore (USD 2,395,080,000).

After signing the file, PM Modi said, “Ours is a government fully committed to Kisan Kalyan. It is therefore fitting that the first file signed on taking charge is related to farmer welfare. We want to keep working even more for the farmers and the agriculture sector in the times to come.”

In a grand ceremony held in India’s iconic Rashtrapati Bhavan in New Delhi, attended by foreign dignitaries, business personalities and showbiz stars, Narendra Modi took oath on Sunday evening as the Prime Minister of India, creating a historic moment in the country as he became the first non-Congress leader to return to power for a third term.

This is a rare feat in Indian politics; only the first Indian Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru had achieved it.

Modi took oath along with 71 ministers, including 30 of Cabinet rank. Five ministers with Independent charge, 36 Ministers of State were also sworn in. There are nine new faces in the cabinet.

Cabinet Ministers

  1. Raj Nath Singh
  2. Amit Shah
  3. Nitin Jairam Gadkari
  4. Jagat Prakash Nadda
  5. Shivraj Singh Chouhan
  6. Nirmala Sitharaman
  7. Dr Subrahmanyam Jaishankar
  8. Manohar Lal
  9. HD Kumaraswamy
  10. Piyush Goyal
  11. Dharmendra Pradhan
  12. Jitan Ram Manjhi
  13. Rajiv Ranjan Singh alias Lalan Singh
  14. Sarbananda Sonowal
  15. Dr Virendra Kumar
  16. Kinjarapu Rammohan Naidu
  17. Pralhad Joshi
  18. Jual Oram
  19. Giriraj Singh
  20. AshwiniVaishnaw
  21. Jyotiraditya M. Scindia
  22. Bhupender Yadav
  23. Gajendra Singh Shekhawat
  24. Annpurna Devi
  25. Kiren Rijiju
  26. Hardeep Singh Puri
  27. Dr Mansukh Mandaviya
  28. G Kishan Reddy
  29. Chirag Paswan
  30. CR Patil

Ministers of State (Independent Charge)

  1. Rao Inderjit Singh
  2. Dr Jitendra Singh
  3. Arjun Ram Meghwal
  4. Jadhav Prataprao Ganpatrao
  5. Jayant Chaudhary

Ministers of State

  1. Jitin Prasada
  2. Shripad Yesso Naik
  3. Pankaj Chaudhary
  4. Krishan Pal
  5. Ramdas Athawale
  6. Ram Nath Thakur
  7. Nityanand Rai
  8. Anupriya Patel
  9. V Somanna
  10. Dr Chandra Sekhar Pemmasani
  11. Prof SP Singh Baghel
  12. Shobha Karandlaje
  13. Kirtivardhan Singh
  14. BL Verma
  15. Shantanu Thakur
  16. Suresh Gopi
  17. Dr L Murugan
  18. Ajay Tamta
  19. Bandi Sanjay Kumar
  20. Kamlesh Paswan
  21. Bhagirath Choudhary
  22. Satish Chandra Dubey
  23. Sanjay Seth
  24. Ravneet Singh
  25. Durgadas Uikey
  26. Raksha Nikhil Khadse
  27. Sukanta Majumdar
  28. Savitri Thakur
  29. Tokhan Sahu
  30. Raj Bhushan Choudhary
  31. Bhupathi Raju Srinivasa Varma
  32. Harsh Malhotra
  33. Nimuben Jayantibhai Bambhaniya
  34. Murlidhar Mohol
  35. George Kurian
  36. Pabitra Margherita

Narendra Modi returned for a rare third consecutive term in office with his allies, but fell short of an absolute majority for his BJP (240 seats as against 272 required), in an election that gave a new lease of life to a Congress-led disparate opposition bloc- INDIA- as the anti-Modi union halted the saffron juggernaut to under 300.

The National Democratic Alliance (NDA) led by Modi’s BJP garnered 293 seats while the opposition INDIA bloc bagged 234 in the 543-member Parliament.

The seven-phased Indian general polls witnessed improved results by the Congress-led INDIA alliance which altered all predictions made by exit-polls.