PM Narendra Modi assumes offices and signs first bill related to welfare of Indian farmers

Indian PM Narendra Modi assumes office. Photo Courtesy: PIB India

Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Monday (June 10, 2024) assumed office for the third straight term when he signed his first file which was related to the welfare of farmers.

“After being sworn in as Prime Minister for the 3rd time, PM Narendra Modi signs his first file authorising release of 17th instalment of PM Kisan Nidhi,” read a statement issued by the Indian government.

The file is expected to benefit 9.3 crore (93,000,000) farmers and distribute around INR 20,000 crores (USD 2,395,080,000).

After signing the file, PM Modi said, “Ours is a Government fully committed to Kisan Kalyan. It is therefore fitting that the first file signed on taking charge is related to farmer welfare. We want to keep working even more for the farmers and the agriculture sector in the times to come.”

In a grand ceremony held in India’s iconic Rashtrapati Bhavan in New Delhi, which was attended by foreign dignitaries, business personalities and showbiz stars, Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi took oath on Sunday evening, creating a historic moment in the country since he became the first non-Congress leader to return to power for a third term.

In a rare event in Indian politics, former Indian Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru had previously achieved it.

Modi took oath along with 71 ministers, including 30 of cabinet rank.

Besides five ministers with Independent charge, 36 Ministers of State were also sworn in.

There are nine new faces in the cabinet.

Narendra Modi returned for a rare third consecutive term in office with his allies, but fell short of an absolute majority for his BJP (240 seats as against 272 required), in an election that gave a new lease of life to a Congress-led disparate opposition bloc- INDIA- as the anti-Modi union halted the saffron juggernaut to under 300.

The National Democratic Alliance (NDA) led by Modi’s BJP garnered 293 seats while the opposition INDIA bloc bagged 234 in the 543-member Paliament.

The seven-phased Indian general polls witnessed improved results by the Congress-led INDIA alliance which altered all predictions made by exit-polls.