Lok Sabha Elections 2024: Union Minister for Women and Child Development Smriti Irani, known for her victory over Congress’s Rahul Gandhi in the traditional Gandhi family bastion of Uttar Pradesh‘s Amethi, is currently trailing in the constituency.

The Congress candidate, KL Sharma, a loyalist of the Gandhi family, has surged ahead with a lead of over 50,758 votes.

Congress KL Sharma takes lead in UP's Amethi.

View Full Image

Congress KL Sharma takes lead in UP’s Amethi.

This unexpected development could indicate the significant shifts occurring in Uttar Pradesh during this election, potentially setting the stage for a major upset.

Also Read: Smriti Irani, Amethi Election Results 2024 Live Updates: Smriti Irani trailing with a margin of 47,424 votes

Meanwhile, Rahul Gandhi was leading from Rae Bareli with 1.24 lakh votes.t 32,000 votes.

The INDIA bloc has secured leads in 43 Lok Sabha seats in UP, while the BJP-led NDA is ahead in 36 seats.

Among the INDIA bloc parties, the Samajwadi Party (SP) and Congress are leading in 34 and nine seats, respectively, according to the election panel’s data for the 80 parliamentary constituencies in the state. Meanwhile, the BJP is leading in 34 seats, with its ally Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) ahead in two.

Also Read: Election Results 2024 Live Updates: NDA nears 300 seats; INDIA bloc defies exit poll predictions with 222 leads

Notably, Chandrashekhar of the Azad Samaj Party (Kanshiram) is leading by a margin of 53,250 votes over BJP’s Om Kumar.

Several prominent leaders have secured comfortable leads over their rivals, including Prime Minister Narendra Modi in Varanasi, Home Minister Rajnath Singh in Lucknow, Samajwadi Party chief Akhilesh Yadav, and his wife Dimple Yadav in Kannauj and Mainpuri respectively. Congress candidates Rahul Gandhi and Kishori Lal Sharma are also leading in Rae Bareli and Amethi respectively.

A total of 851 candidates — 771 men and 80 women — were in the fray in the elections in Uttar Pradesh, with a maximum of 28 in the Ghosi Lok Sabha constituency and a minimum of four in Kaiserganj.

This time, the state recorded 56.92 per cent voting in the Lok Sabha election, two percentage points less than the 2019 turnout.

(With inputs from PTI)

You are on Mint! India’s #1 news destination (Source: Press Gazette). To learn more about our business coverage and market insights Click Here!

Catch all the Politics News and Updates on Live Mint.
Download The Mint News App to get Daily Market Updates & Live Business News.


Published: 04 Jun 2024, 12:42 PM IST

Disclaimer: This report is auto-generated from other news portal services. Realtimeindia holds no responsibility for its content.