Image Source : PTI Congress leader Rahul Gandhi and Samajwadi Party Chief Akhilesh Yadav during a public meeting for Lok Sabha polls.

Uttar Pradesh Lok Sabha Election 2024: INDIA bloc led by Samajwadi Party (SP)-Congress is ahead of BJP-led NDA in Uttar Pradesh as counting of votes is underway in Lok Sabha elections 2024. Comparing to 2019 elections, the BJP alone won 62 seats. However, as per current trends, the INDIA bloc is ahead on 40 seats while NDA is leading on 39 seats. The state has a total of 80 seats.

Election Commission trends in Uttar Pradesh as counting is underway 

INDIA bloc trends 

  • INDIA: 40
  • SP: 33
  • Congress: 07

NDA trends 

Others: 01

ASP-KR: 01

According to the current trends, the Bharatiya Janata Party is trailing on several seats where it won by thumping majority in 2019 elections including Amethi, Faizabad, Muzaffarnagar, among others. Polling in Uttar Pradesh was held in all the phases of Lok Sabha elections.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Union ministers Rajnath Singh and Smriti Irani, and opposition leaders Rahul Gandhi and Akhilesh Yadav are among the 851 candidates in the fray in Uttar Pradesh.

Modi is eyeing a hat-trick from the Varanasi constituency while Defence Minister Rajnath Singh, who contested from the Lucknow seat, is also seeking a third consecutive victory from the constituency.

Irani, who defeated Rahul Gandhi in the Amethi seat in 2019, is bidding to retain the constituency, but is trailing by a margin of over 30,000 votes.

Union ministers Mahendra Nath Pandey and Anupriya Patel, among others, are also in the fray. As per trends, Patel is also trailing.

Senior Congress leader Rahul Gandhi contested these elections from the Rae Bareli constituency, a seat earlier represented by his mother Sonia Gandhi. Rahul is leading by a margin of over 1.20 lakh votes.

ALSO READ BJP likely to sweep all seven seats in Delhi, tough fight in Chandni Chowk