NEW DELHI: Rahul Narwekar, speaker of the state legislature, said in the House on Thursday that four Mumbai players participating in the T20 World Cup cricket team would be honored on Friday at the Maharashtra Vidhan Bhavan complex in Mumbai.
Mumbai natives Rohit Sharma, Suryakumar Yadav, Shivam Dube, and Yashasvi Jaiswal were all in India’s T20 World Cup team.
An 11-year drought for an ICC trophy came to an end on June 29 as the Indian cricket team won the nation’s second T20 world title.
India’s most recent ICC championship came from winning the Champions Trophy in 2013 while captained by Mahendra Singh Dhoni.
Sena Shiv MLA Pratap Sarnaik brought up the matter on Thursday during the Mumbai players’ assembly that was previously honored at Vidhan Bhavan, according to PTI.
The city’s players will be honored on Friday afternoon in the Vidhan Bhavan, according to Speaker Narwekar.
On Thursday morning, the triumphant Indian squad from the T20 World Cup arrived back in New Delhi from Barbados to an ecstatic reception.