New Delhi: Congress leader Shashi Tharoor is currently leading Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader Rajeev Chandrashekhar in the Thiruvananthapuram Lok Sabha constituency, early trends of the Election Commission of India (ECI) said.
According to the latest figures of the ECI (as of 2:00 pm), Tharoor received 31,4309 votes while Chandrashekhar received 30,8595 votes.CPI’s Pannian Ravindran was third with 21,9604 votes.
The constituency went to polls in the second phase of the Lok Sabha elections on April 26 and the voter turnout was recorded at 66%.
In the 2019 parliamentary elections, Congress’ Shashi Tharoor emerged victorious, securing 4,16,131 votes (41.15%), while the CPI candidate C. Divakaran garnered 2,58,556 votes (25.57%) and the BJP candidate Kummanam Rajasekharan received 3,16,142 (31.26%). with a robust voter turnout of 73.6%.

Lok Sabha Elections

Assembly Elections

In 2014, Shashi Tharoor secured his win, defeating O. Rajagopal of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) by a narrow margin and Dr. Bennet Abraham of the CPI.