MUMBAI: Bhausaheb Wakchaure and Amar Kale are among those who switched parties days before the Lok Sabha polls and won.
For a long time, Wakchaure was in BJP, but on the eve of election day, he joined the Uddhav Thackeray-led Shiv Sena (UBT) and was nominated for the Shirdi seat. Wakchaure, a former chief officer of the Shirdi Sai Temple trust, defeated sitting MP Sadashiv Lokhande of Shiv Sena by 50,529 votes.
Three-term Congress legislator from Arvi in Wardha Amar Kale, who approached Sharad Pawar a week before the polls and was nominated from Wardha constituency on NCP (SP) ticket, defeated sitting BJP MP Ramdas Tada by a margin of 47,899 votes. When BJP did not nominate Dhairyasheel Mohite-Patil from Madha seat, he joined NCP (SP) and won the seat after beating sitting BJP MP Ranjeet Nimbalkar.
But not all turncoats tasted victory.

Lok Sabha Elections

Assembly Elections

Wrestler Chandrahas Patil quit Prakash Ambedkar-led Vanchit Bahujan Aghadi a week before elections, joined Sena (UBT) and was nominated from Sangli seat. He lost to independent candidate Vishal Patil.
Ravindra Waikar jumped ship from Sena UBT to the CM Eknath Shinde-led Shiv Sena on polling day; apparently, he was fearing detention by the Enforcement Directorate. Shinde nominated him from Mumbai North-West and he defeated Amol Kirtikar of Sena (UBT) after recounting.
Navneet Rana was an independent MP from Amravati during the 2019 elections. Her candidature was backed by Congress-NCP, but she extended her support to NDA. She contested on BJP ticket and lost to Congress nominee Balwant Wankhede by nearly 20,000 votes. Shivajirao Adhalrao Patil was a staunch Shiv Sainik who represented Shirur for two consecutive terms. In 2019, he lost to undivided NCP’s Amol Kolhe. In the allocation of seats in 2024, Shirur was allotted to Ajit Pawar-led NCP. Patil defected to NCP and was nominated from Shirur, but lost to Kolhe, who is with NCP (SP).