Telugu Desam Party (TDP) chief Nara Chandrababu Naidu is likely to postpone his swearing-in ceremony as Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister to June 12 due to Narendra Modi taking the oath as Prime Minister on June 8, the Times of India reported, citing sources. The swearing-in ceremony will be held in Amravati, his designated state capital, according to reports.

Lok Sabha Election Results 2024 LIVE

Chandrababu Naidu was initially scheduled to take oath as the next Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister on June 9. 

Also Read: Bengaluru water supply cut alert! BSWWB warns of water shortage on THESE days

Naidu’s powerful return to power in Andhra Pradesh

The state assembly elections results announced on June 4 showed a landslide victory for TDP chief Chandrababu Naidu in Andhra Pradesh. His main opponent, the YSR Congress party (YSRCP), was restricted to 18 seats, and TDP emerged as the largest party in the state. Naidu’s party also made a stellar performance in the Lok Sabha Elections 2024 which is helping the Bharatiya Janata Party-led NDA to stake claim for government formation. 

Also Read: ‘BJP’s defeat in Ayodhya…’: How foreign media reacted to Lok Sabha election 2024 results

Chandrababu Naidu campaigned for the elections while on bail in the Skill Development Corporation Scam case. The TDP leader was arrested in September 2023 and spent two months in prison. After returning from prison, Naidu laid special emphasis on rebuilding an alliance with the BJP-led NDA.

Also Read: Lok Sabha Elections 2024: Did INDIA bloc seat-sharing pact benefit Congress more than its allies? Yes, but…

About TDP Chief Chandrababu Naidu

Chandrababu Naidu was born on April 20, 1950, at Naravaripalli in the undivided Chittoor district of Andhra Pradesh. He started his four-decade political career from Sri Venkateswara University in Tirupati. Later, he joined the Congress party and rose to the ranks of a cabinet minister.

Later, he joined the TDP, which was founded by his late father-in-law and legendary actor N T Rama Rao. Naidu first became the chief minister in 1995 and had another two terms as CM. His term as CM of undivided Andhra Pradesh began in 1995 and ended in 2004. He became CM for the third time after Andhra Pradesh’s bifurcation.

During the late 90s, Naidu played a key role in forming the Central Government. The first NDA government formed by Atal Bihari Vajpayee was supported from outside by the TDP. In 2019, he faced a crushing defeat in the state from Jagan Mohan Reddy of the YSRCP. 

You are on Mint! India’s #1 news destination (Source: Press Gazette). To learn more about our business coverage and market insights Click Here!

Catch all the Politics News and Updates on Live Mint.
Download The Mint News App to get Daily Market Updates & Live Business News.


Published: 06 Jun 2024, 09:38 AM IST

Disclaimer: This report is auto-generated from other news portal services. Realtimeindia holds no responsibility for its content.